Transitioning Tips

This week two ladies asked me about transitioning.

The first question was:

What are some quick and easy styles that I can do to transition?

When I was transitioning, I would spend hours on my hair several times a week. That is not practial or doable for everyone.

Here are some easy ideas.

transitioning bun and scarf

Photo from Essence

Scarf, hump, and bun or pinned up hair. 

This is a quick hairstyle that can be done in the morning before work. You can tie the scarf in a bow as shown, in a turban style, or like a flat hair band. It can help smooth and protect edges. Rolling the bangs into a pompadour or hump, protects ends and effectively gets them out of the way if you don’t like hair in your face.

Depending on the length of your hair, you can tie it up into a bun, or use bobby pins or clips to put it up.

Braid out 

HowtoGettheBestBraidOutonNatural-Hairbantu knots

Photos – Left from AfricanAmericanHairstyleVideos.com and Right my own braid out while transitioning

If you want a fuller look and have a some time before bed you can blend the two textures by braiding the hair. I had the best results when I braided sections of damp hair with moisturizing products like coconut oil or shea butter. You can use small rollers to curl the ends of the hair.

When you wake up in the morning, make sure that your hair isn’t wet (if it is use a blow dryer). Take down the braids and separate the strands for a full, curly look. The style can last, without being redone for several days.

Updo with Elastic Hair Clip

quick-transitioning-natural-straight-hairstyle4

Photo from Keepitkinky.net

The elastic clip is a lifesaver for pulling hair together into a neat style. Currently my hair is too short for a ponytail, but this clip allows me to pull my hair up or down into a bun.

The second question was:

What do you do when your hair is matted while you’re transitioning?

Hairstyles can be worn for up to 2 weeks, but if your hair is starting to feel dry or tangled, I would suggest washing it. I usually comb my hair while I still have conditioner in it. If combing is too difficult, use your hands to separate the tangled hair.

maxresdefault

Photo from Tiajonay

Hope this post is helpful as you transition or contemplate your transition.

Leave a Reply

